In praise of Twitter

There was a time when I didn’t want to join Facebook. Then a writing project wanted its contributors to connect with one another on Facebook so I joined.But I said I would NEVER do Twitter. Then came another writing reason to consider joining it. With no great enthusiasm I did so. Now I’m a fan! Here’s why:

  • I’m a writer. I tweet to find new places to submit stories and to promote any publications. I also tweet about the writing successes of others I know, and sometimes of those I don’t know personally, but whose writing I’ve enjoyed. And  I receive much-appreciated acknowledgement of my writing, whether in tweets or direct messaging.
  • Twitter is the place for breaking news. I often find out about world events here hours and even days before I hear about them on the radio or TV.
  • I’ve found, poignantly, that you can offer real support to people in this virtual world. Again, these may be people I don’t know in what we call real life. My experience is that genuine connection is possible this way.
  • There are fun things out there.
  •  I share my daily photograph too. And yes, it is sometimes of food.

Of course there is loads of stuff and s*** on Twitter, but you don’t have to look at it.

Here are ten accounts to follow:

For writing inspiration:

@fiction_zero

@GalleyBeggars

@SpelkFiction

@RetreatWest

For news:

@BBCBreaking

For inspiring people:

@GrangerKate

For fun and new ideas:

@foragefinefoods

@TheWoolCroft

@Rukiya_camp

Mine!

@CathBarton1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Cath Barton

Cath Barton is an English writer who lives in South Wales. She was the first Literature Editor of Celtic Family Magazine and is a regular contributor to the on-line critical hub for Welsh arts and culture, Wales Arts Review. Of her short fiction in print, most recently she has had stories published in the 2015 Flash Fiction Anthology "Landmarks" and in anthologies from Hour of Writes. She is also active in the on-line community of writers of flash fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

