The Blog Tour

Goodness knows why it takes me so long to get round to some things. I see that it was over two months ago that playwright and fellow Wales Arts Review writer Julie Bainbridge invited me to take part in this Blog Tour. Here I am at last, answering a few pertinent questions:

1) What am I working on? Lately I’ve been experimenting with length and form. I wrote a 5,000 word piece for http://www.nibfest.co.uk. The first time I’ve written a fiction piece that long! And, inspired in particular by the fiction of Jon McGregor, I’ve been cutting up my sentences. All very liberating. Meantime, I continue to write mainstream flash fiction, and have just had a piece accepted for the National Flash Fiction Day Anthology 2014, hurrah.

2) How does my work differ from others in this genre? Simple. I don’t recognise genre. I write what I write.

3) Why do I write what I do? Sometimes I feel as if I’m writing the same story over and over. There’s something (elusive) that I’m trying to say and I’m looking for how to convey it.

4) How does your writing process work? Good question! If only I knew!  Then again, I like the fact that it eludes me! To me, the way to write is to start. Trust and it will come. Which is not to say it doesn’t need work. It certainly does!

Over to the amazing Annie Mitchell who has generously agree to share her thoughts on these questions.

About Cath Barton

Cath Barton is an English writer who lives in South Wales. In June 2017 she was awarded the New Welsh Writing AmeriCymru Prize for the Novella. She is active in the on-line community of writers of flash fiction and is a regular contributor to the on-line critical hub for Welsh arts and culture, Wales Arts Review.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blog Tour

  1. Congratulations on the anthology acceptance, Cath!

Leave a Reply

