Thursday Shout-out – 7 – Flash Fiction World

No contest (there’s a reason I’m using this word!) about this week’s shout-out – it’s Flash Fiction World, a UK-based website which gives writers a platform for their work. It’s a writing community, but a moderated one ie you have to submit your work, which will be posted if it meets basic standards of good writing.  Others can then read and comment if they wish.  But here’s the brilliant bit – all stories on the site are entered, free gratis, into a quarterly competition, and this quarter I WON! 

As I wrote in my Thursday Shout-out a couple of weeks back, I’m not a big fan of entering competitions, but, hey, how good does it feel to have a win! It’s the very first time I’ve won a writing competition, and I’m still punching the air.

I took this photograph in Lancaster, close to Morecambe, the location for my winning story, which you can read  here – please leave a comment if you’re moved to do so.

About Cath Barton

Cath Barton is an English writer who lives in South Wales. In June 2017 she was awarded the New Welsh Writing AmeriCymru Prize for the Novella. She is active in the on-line community of writers of flash fiction and is a regular contributor to the on-line critical hub for Welsh arts and culture, Wales Arts Review.
This entry was posted in Stories published, writing sites. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday Shout-out – 7 – Flash Fiction World

  1. I loved your story. I thought it was skilfully written and astonishingly vivid. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

