Reflections on National Flash Fiction Day

Wednesday was a perfect storm of flash fiction. The flood of stories scrolling down my Home page on Facebook was glorious, added to which we had the live Write-In from the apparently inexhaustible wizards behind National Flash Fiction Day , to which I contributed a little bit of silliness which I reproduce here for your delectation:

A very short shaggy dog story

Maggie – that’s my person – is always saying to people that I’m nothing but a hound dog.  It amuses her and there’s a song to that effect which she sings around the house when no-one can hear, except that I do hear it and if I could put my paws over my ears I would because, well, it’s terrible. Only then she’d think I wanted to play and frankly, I just want to rest. I’m old. In my day I dreamt of being a dragon dog, roaming the forests and eating people. Just as well Maggie can’t read my mind. I think it would have frightened her, even though it was a harmless fantasy. We dogs have rich internal lives. Did you know that, you writers?

Out and about in the real world, we had a delightful evening of story-telling in Abergavenny, and the stories of those short-listed in our competition for NFFD were all read. The winner in the over-18s category  (for which we had over 70 entries) was Barbara Weeks from Carmarthen with her intriguing story The Sofa – many congratulations to Barbara!

So, time to start work on a longer (short!) story…

About Cath Barton

Cath Barton is an English writer who lives in South Wales. She was the first Literature Editor of Celtic Family Magazine and is a regular contributor to the on-line critical hub for Welsh arts and culture, Wales Arts Review. Of her short fiction in print, most recently she has had stories published in the 2015 Flash Fiction Anthology "Landmarks" and in anthologies from Hour of Writes. She is also active in the on-line community of writers of flash fiction.
This entry was posted in Stories published, Story events, writing sites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

